top of page
  • Gourgit Demian

06/21/2024  “MCAT or Interview?”`

Officially the last MedEx interview! This time it was virtual which was much more uncomfortable than the in-person interviews we’ve done. My one-on-one interview with Danny made me realize I need to work some more on eye contact through a screen. This is challenging as its hard to look at a dot rather than eyes. I also need to remember to fidget with a pen or something because I tend to talk with my hands. The group interview with M2s Reagen and Emily went pretty well. This is always good practice because not only do I get to practice talking in front of others but also get the chance to hear other people’s answers. Although these were virtual, I thought that I could be the most productive at the nursing school. So I spent the other two hours working on shortening my personal statement. 


When everyone came to campus, we spent most of the afternoon doing a mock admissions committee. My team and I were all on the same page in terms of ranking the top 10 tenants. One thing we would change about today’s process for medical school admissions is how much emphasis schools may place on an applicant’s GPA and MCAT. So, we ranked things like “believe,” “you,” interview, and personal statement in the top few categories and put grade-related items towards the bottom. Our train of thought for this wasn’t that we wouldn’t look at the MCAT and GPA, instead, it was after a candidate has already met a specific threshold, we would put more value in their personalities through things like an interview. Overall this activity opened my eyes to how every decision made is based on the candidate’s unique background. I also learned the different ways people approach rating these candidates. For example, some of my tier-mates couldn’t care less about the distance traveled if the scores weren’t met which was frustrating to me but can resemble the reality of how the real committee may look at applicants. 


See you next week!!




Comentários


bottom of page